Skip page header and navigation

ICGN Governance


ICGN is governed by an independent Board and Committees responsible for promoting ICGN’s long-term success through strategic direction, risk oversight, financial discipline, reporting and managerial accountability.   


The ICGN Board of Governors

The ICGN Board

The ICGN is governed by an independent Board of 12 directors who are responsible for promoting and protecting the interests of the company and are accountable to the ICGN membership. Governors are elected by members of ICGN at the Annual General Meeting and as such are accountable to Members. The day-to-day management of the company is delegated to the CEO and a number of committees oversee finances, board nominations and governance.

James Andrus

Franklin Templeton

James Andrus

ICGN Board Chair

Ian Burger

ICGN Board Member

Debby Blakey

ICGN Vice Chair
Global Head of Active Ownership, Credit Suisse Asset Management.

Christine Chow 2022

ICGN Board Member
Global Head of Stewardship & BNP Paribas Asset Management

Michael Herskovich

ICGN Board Member
Senior Stewardship Officer, Sumitomo Mitsui Trust Asset Management

Seiji Kawazoe

ICGN Board Member & Governance Committee Chair
Managing Director, Corporate Governance and Public Policy & Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited

Dan Konnigsburg

ICGN Board Member
Head of ESG Engagement & Old Mutual Investment Group

Robert Lewenson

ICGN Board Member
Senior Investment Stewardship Analyst, Colorado Public Employees’ Retirement Association

Luz Rodriguez

ICGN Board Member
Chief Sustainability Advisor and Vice President, PricewaterhouseCoopers

Susanne Stormer

ICGN Board Member
Global Head of Stewardship & Sustainable Investing, Fidelity International


ICGN Board Member
President, CalPERS

Theresa Taylor

Board Nominations

Board Nominations

Up to 12 candidates are elected to the ICGN Board by Members at the AGM and thereafter re-elected for a maximum tenure of six years. Board candidates are voted on individually and must receive at least 50% of the valid votes to be elected. 

ICGN Members put forward candidates to the Nomination Committee which then deliberates taking into account the incumbent board composition and the future strategic direction of the ICGN. In doing so, Committee members recognise the following as far as possible:

that ICGN’s mission is to promote effective standards of corporate governance and investor stewardship to advance efficient markets and sustainable economies worldwide; that the historic strength of the ICGN derives from the investment community; that the board composition should be diverse including geographic balance, gender and experience. 

Back to top of page

Board Nomination Committee

Board Nomination Committee

The Nomination Committee’s role is identifying Board Governor candidates for election taking account of desired Board composition as aligned with ICGN’s purpose and long-term strategic direction.

ICGN Nominations Committee Member
President and CEO, ValueEdge Advisors LLC

Richard Bennett

ICGN Nomination Committee Member
Investment Stewardship & ESG/Founder of The 100% Club

Deborah Gilshan

ICGN Nomination Committee Member
Executive Officer and Chief Corporate Governance Officer, Nissay Asset Management

George Iguchi

ICGN Nomination Committee Member
Director, CS International

Anne Molyneux

Board Committees

The Governance Committee shall assist the Board of Governors in fulfilling its oversight responsibilities relating to developing and implementing sound governance policies and practices.

Governance Committee

The Audit & Finance Committee assists the Board of Governors in fulfilling its oversight responsibilities relating to formal and transparent financial reporting, internal controls, financial planning and appropriate risk management. 


The Policy Oversight Committee assists the Board of Governors in fulfilling its oversight responsibilities relating to formal ICGN public policy outputs.

Policy - signing