2019 Candidates & Categories

Details of the shortlists and how they were selected are below.  

ICGN Global Stewardship Disclosure Awards

The purpose of these awards is to recognize those investors who provide genuine insight into their stewardship policies and how they are implemented, and whose approach to disclosure provides a model that others might follow.  There are three categories for these awards. 

  • ICGN Global Stewardship Disclosure Award (Asset Owners)
  • ICGN Global Stewardship Disclosure Award (Asset Managers> $60bn AuM)
  • ICGN Global Stewardship Disclosure Award (Asset Managers<$60bn AuM)

Unlike the Global Stewardship Champion Award, nominations were not required for these awards. All investors who are ICGN members were automatically eligible, apart from those that are represented on the ICGN board and those awarded in 2018. 

An independent assessor reviewed all disclosures on the eligible investors’ websites during May and June against the published assessment criteria, and drew up ‘long lists’ of asset managers and owners whose disclosures they considered best met or exceeded the desired standard.

These lists were then considered by the ICGN’s Global Stewardship Awards Committee, which chose the shortlists. In selecting the shortlists, the Committee bore in mind not only the overall quality of the individual disclosures but also, where there were a number of investors whose disclosures it considered to be roughly comparable, the desirability of having nominees from a range of countries and regions.

The shortlists are: 

ICGN Global Stewardship Disclosure Award (Asset Owners)
  • Caisse de dépôt et placement du Quebec
  • Canada Pension Plan Investment Board 
  • NZ Super 
  • RPMI Railpen 
ICGN Global Stewardship Disclosure Award (Asset Managers> $60bn AuM)
  • AllianceBernstein 
  • Allianz Global Investors
  • Aviva Investors
  • Legal & General Investment Management
ICGN Global Stewardship Disclosure Award (Asset Managers<$60bn AuM)
  • Alberta Investment Management Corporation
  • Martin Currie Investment Management
  • Merian Global Investors
  • Sarasin & Partners

ICGN Global Stewardship Champion Award

These awards will recognise individuals, organisations or collaborations whose actions have contributed significantly to making effective stewardship a reality in the markets in which they operate. Winners will be chosen for the impact of activities undertaken during the twelve months ending 30 April 2019 (i.e. they are not ‘life time achievement’ awards). 

The nominees are:

  • Australian Council of Superannuation Investors
  • Natasha Landell-Mills


The winners will be chosen by an independent panel of judges, and announced at the event on 26 November in London. The Awards ceremony will take place after the Global Stewardship Forum - also taking place on 26 November in London. Please note, the two events are separate and will require seperate registrations - registration will open next month.